david axelrod – an axelrod anthology


1968 to 1970: An Axelrod Anthology (1999)


David Axelrod
Born in Los Angeles, California
Active since 1960 and onwards.

An award-winning producer for Capitol Records who produced, great jazz, funk, and soul records during the 1960s and ’70s, from Stan Kenton to Lou Rawls to The Electric Prunes to Cannonball Adderley. David Axelrod created his own distinct style. He has earned one Grammy and five nominations, along with seven gold records. Serious jazz lovers will recognize his name.
Axelrod freely uses drums, horns, strings, string bass as well as woodwinds along with key board, in his compositions. Poetry has been an influence on his compositions. He is considered a visionary and the father of fusion.




Track List
1. Warning Talk, Pt. 1 – David Axelrod
2. Holy Are You – The Electric Prunes
3. Holy Thrusday – David Axelrod
4. For What It’s Worth – Lou Rawls
5. Kukuchi – Letta Mbulu
6. Mental Traveler – David Axelrod
7. Space Spiritual – Nat Adderley Sextet
8. London – David Axelrod
9. Urizen – David Axelrod
10. School Boy – David Axelrod
11. Sign, Pt. 1 – David Axelrod
12. Fly – David Axelrod
13. General Confessional – The Electric Prunes
14. Smile – David Axelrod
15. Human Abstract – David Axelrod
16. Why (Am I Treated So Bad) – Cannonball Adderley
17. Sign, Pts. 2 – 4 – David Axelrod
18. West Wind – Letta Mbulu

1 Comment

Filed under Uncategorized

One response to “david axelrod – an axelrod anthology

  1. Chris Ward

    Thanks for the Axelrod collection.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s